Devising law which eliminated full disclosure and transparency of all government action

..ATTENTION ARIZONA …       This is how our Koch Bro$ owned state legislature is spending its time ….. Devising law which eliminated full disclosure and transparency of all government action ….. They do not want you and me to know a damn thing…

House Federalism, Property Rights, and Public Policy

HB 2153 and HCR 2008, both sponsored by Rep. Leach, are scheduled to be heard in the House Federalism, Property Rights, and Public Policy Committee tomorrow at 2PM.

HB 2153, if passed, would prohibit municipalities from requiring that nonprofit organizations disclose donors and file as a political action committee, allowing for unfettered secretive spending by any organization with a 501-c (3) or 501-c (4) classification. This further loosening of campaign finance protections will only intensify the hazardous impacts that dark money has on our elections. The bill also runs in contradiction of the State of Arizona v. City of Tucson, where the Arizona Supreme Court reaffirmed that “method and manner of conducting elections in the city . . . is peculiarly the subject of local interest and is not a matter of statewide concern.”

HCR 2008 would send to the voters a requirement that the Attorney General make the final determination that an initiative isn’t in conflict with federal law in order to get on the ballot – a change that, if approved by the voters, would grant the executive branch an excessive amount of power over Arizona’s ballot measure process.

If you live in any of the Federalism, Property Rights, and Public Policy member’s districts, please give them a call to voice your opinion on these bills. If you aren’t sure which district you live in you can find out here.

Bob Thorpe (Chair)

LD 6

R

602-926-5219

bthorpe@azleg.gov

Mark Finchem (Vice Chair)

LD 11

R

(602) 926-3122

mfinchem@azleg.gov

Isela Blanc

LD 26

D

(602) 926-5187

iblanc@azleg.gov

Noel Campbell

LD 1

R

(602) 926-3124

ncampbell@azleg.gov

Travis Grantham

LD 12

R

(602) 926-4868

tgrantham@azleg.gov

Daniel Hernandez

LD 2

D

(602) 926-4840

dhernandez@azleg.gov

Tony Navarrete

LD 30

D

(602) 926-4864

onavarrete@azleg.gov

Kevin Payne

LD 21

R

(602) 926-4854

kpayne@azleg.gov

David Stringer

LD 1

R

(602) 926-4838

dstringer@azleg.gov

House Government

HCR 2007, sponsored by Rep. Coleman, is on the agenda for Thursday’s 9:30AM House Government Committee.

HCR 2007 would send to the voters the question to limit Clean Elections candidates on what services they are allowed to pay political parties for. Clean Candidates will, every so often, partner with their political parties to receive campaign training and expertise that is not available to less experienced candidates, as well as other kinds of campaign services. If approved by the voters, this bill would eliminate that option and limit financial transactions made with political parties solely to access to the voter file.

If you live in any of the House Government member’s districts, please give them a call.

Doug Coleman (Chair)

LD 16

R

(602) 926-3160

dcoleman@azleg.gov

Bob Thorpe (Vice Chair)

LD 6

R

(602) 926-5219

bthorpe@azleg.gov

Todd Clodfelter

LD 10

R

(602) 926-4850

tclodfelter@azleg.gov

Drew John

LD 14

R

(602) 926-5154

djohn@azleg.gov

Michelle Ugenti-Rita

LD 23

R

(602) 926-4480

mugenti-rita@azleg.gov

Ken Clark

LD 24

D

(602) 926-3108

kenclark@azleg.gov

Ray Martinez

LD 30

D

(602) 926-5158

rmartinez@azleg.gov

Athena Salman

LD 26

D

(602) 926-4858

asalman@azleg.gov

Use the legislature’s Request to Speak system to log in and voice your opinion on these bills. If you don’t have a Request to Speak account yet, sign up for one here. To support the work that we’re doing at AZAN this session, consider contributing $25 to our efforts today.

Arizona Advocacy Network
http://www.azadvocacy.org/

%d bloggers like this: